Written by Will Dietrich-Egensteiner    Wednesday, 08 June 2011 20:52    PDF Print Write e-mail
Tiberio Leads SoCal All-Stars
Colleges - All-Stars

The Southern California Men’s Collegiate All Star team begins its championship campaign against the Pacific Coast All Stars Thursday at 4 pm MDT at Infinity Park in Glendale, Colo.

Despite the scouting process being a little more restricted this year, head coach Jeremy Ognall of Claremont Colleges has a talented squad to work with.

 “I think this year more than in past years I’ve had to rely a lot on collegiate coaches,” Ognall said. “It was a collective effort. We have a small window to assemble the squad, so it makes it hard to assemble a team and put your structure in place.”

Ognall’s scouting problem could be a blessing in disguise, given that some of the schools he chose players from made either the CPD or DI playoffs, increasing their playing time and experience.

 Representing nine colleges and universities, the squad looks strong enough to make a run at the Tier 1 title. The starting halfback pairing of Jamie Purcell and Kalei Konrad, who are teammates at San Diego State University, will have the benefit of experience playing together. Captain and fullback Peter Tiberio is coming off an outstanding performance at the Collegiate Rugby Championship, where he was the top points scorer with 54, and Leo Hunt is a junior college player who also plays for Belmont Shore.

The team will need to make the most of this talent if they are to be ready for a Pacific Coast team that made it to the final last year.

“We’re coming along very nicely,” Ognall said. “We’ve been in Colorado since Monday, doing some team building related activities. I’m comfortable, not necessarily confident at this point, but I’m comfortable with the process.”

Jon Flake (Santa Barbara City College)
Zach Fenoglio (Loyola Marymount)
Stephan Salimi (UC Santa Barbara)
Jeff Sparks (San Diego State University)
Leo Hunt (Cerritos College)
David Samons (Arizona)
Dan Hoesterey (Claremont Colleges)
Matt Pautler (Claremont Colleges)
Travis Hughes (Arizona State)
Mike Shea (San Diego State University)
Jordan Badia-Bellinger (Claremont Colleges)

Jamie Purcell (San Diego State University)
Robert Cardiff (Arizona)
Kalei Konrad (San Diego State University)
Duncan Kelm (San Diego State University)
Brett Thompson (Arizona)
Jack Arnold (Arizona)
Jeff Astor (Claremont Colleges)
Kyle Cronin (UC Santa Barbara)
Stu Sharpe (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)
Peter Tiberio (Arizona) (C)
Jon Gallo (UC Santa Barbara)