Written by Will Dietrich-Egensteiner    Wednesday, 08 June 2011 17:58    PDF Print Write e-mail
Midwest Collegiates Ready for NASC
Colleges - All-Stars

Nick Viviani is part of a talented MW backline. Brad Davis photoThe Midwest Men’s Collegiate All Star team begins its championship bid against the defending champion South All Stars Thursday at 2 pm MDT at Infinity Park in Glendale, Colo.

Not an easy task for a team that just moved up to Tier 1 this year.

The Midwest beat the Mid-Atlantic team in last year’s competition to earn the call up and coach Ron Bowers of Ohio State is feeling good about this year’s squad.

“It’s the best team we’ve had,” he said.

To select the squad, Bowers and assistant coach Jared Moore from Miami of Ohio watched the teams all year and hosted an open camp and tournament.

The team’s strength lies primarily in the backs, where all the players from last year are returning and several new ones have joined the fold. Rocco Mauer, Nick Viviani (both of Bowling Green) and JP Eloff (Davenport University) will spearhead the attack.

The squad has lost several tight five forwards from last year, so the relatively inexperienced pack will have to front up to take on South. Look for Landon Peterson of Central Michigan to make an impact from the back row. Bowers described him as an “outstanding player.”

Nick Civetta and Andy O’Connor of Notre Dame played in the CRC this past weekend so their fitness level should be high for the All Stars.

Midwest Men’s Collegiate All-Stars Roster
Angus MacLellan (Davenport)
John Lalor (Notre Dame)
Andy Krieger (Ohio State)
Tyler Jackson (Indiana)
Pat Rahill (Miami of Ohio)
Nick Civetta (Notre Dame)
Kyle Strohman (Indiana)
Isaac Hall (Indiana)
Ryan Hargraves (Davenport)
Andrew Hanske (Wisconsin)
Landon Peterson (Central Michigan)
Andy O’Connor (Notre Dame)
Nate Augspurger (Minnesota)
Nick Viviani (Bowling Green)
JP Eloff (Davenport)
Luke Markovic (Miami of Ohio)
Dominic Mauer (Bowling Green)
Brian Rooney (Iowa State)
Mason Baum (Davenport)
Rocco Mauer (Bowling Green)
AJ Hollingsworth (Indiana)
Michael Pelagalli (Miami of Ohio)